I’ll Give it a Miss

I tried a new vegan product his week:  Jackfruit.  BBQ Jackfruit, to be precise.

I first heard of jackfruit in Jenn Shagrin’s cookbook, Veganize This!.  Ms. Shagrin had a recipe making a canned tuna substitute out of jackfruit.  I purchased this cookbook when I first made the decision to become a vegan and, as I was already overwhelmed with new ingredients, I did not run out and purchase jackfruit.  I knew H Mart, a lovely Asian market not far from where I live, carried canned as well as fresh jackfruit so it was always in the back of my mind to use but I developed a taste for not-tuna salad made with chickpeas and nori so…years passed…

And then, I saw jackfruit for sale at my local Vitamin Cottage.  Ah!  Jackfruit!  I always wanted to try that, I told myself and purchased the package.  I didn’t have a plan when I brought the jackfruit home so I put it in the freezer and forgot about it until I needed something to go with mashed potatoes and gravy and peas.  In my pre-vegan days, I’d have had pulled pork so BBQ jackfruit seemed like a optimal alternative.

DSCF0024
It Almost Looks Like Pulled Pork…

So…

This was not one of my favorite things.  I liked the BBQ sauce but the texture of the jackfruit definitely takes some getting used to.  The taste reminded me of BBQ artichoke hearts; something I can make a lot cheaper should I be seized by the impulse.  I can’t imagine it will.

My verdict?  It isn’t bad but I don’t see jackfruit becoming a staple in my vegan diet.

Leave a Reply

