Isn’t Healthy Junk Food an Oxymoron?

Work has been stressful lately. Of course, now that I’m thinking of it; work has been stressful for months and it’s only now that I’m becoming concerned for my health. I know I need to learn not to take responsibility on myself for things I can’t possibly be responsible for, but such growth is a process and I haven’t achieved the zenith yet.

Stress does annoying things to me. My mind gets wrapped up in the problem I’m dwelling on so my writing suffers, I get twisted up inside so my health suffers, and I desire nothing more than to stuff my face with all the food that’s bad for me-salt, fat, and sugar-so my health suffers even more. My vegan diet almost had a set back after one particularly trying day: I was driving home and saw the Sonic Drive-through coming up on my right. All I wanted was to get some pre-made food, go home, curl up in my chair, and wallow in misery. I didn’t want to be concerned about my health, GMOs, or think about what (or who) I might be eating. Fortunately, this blip didn’t last long. I remembered I did care about my health, animals, and the environment and made the turn to my house instead. Once home, I made my own burger and fries; satisfying the junk food craving without compromise.

For this, I thank Hilary’s Eat Well brand. I have packages of these vegan burgers in my freezer: I hit a sale at Vitamin Cottage a while back and stocked up, anticipating such an occasion. My favorite is the Green Chile and Cumin Adzuki Bean burger. This burger is flavorful, filling, and the texture is perfect. I’ve encountered some veggie burgers that feel like I’m chewing on a sponge but not so with Hilary’s brand. And, the burger is ready in less than ten minutes. Add some oven fries and my food almost as fast as drive-through, it tastes 100 times better, and is made without being fried in oil so I’m not inflicting too much destruction on my health.

Healthy Fast Food
Healthy Fast Food

It’s good to indulge without violating the principals that are important to me, even when cortisol is howling through my system. Part of me wishes I craved bean and greens soup and yoga when I’m stressed but I don’t. Maybe someday. Until then, I go ahead and indulge and then return to my optimum health track. 10 bean soup with kale for dinner tonight!

I do have one confession: I eat chocolate when I’m stressed and may have eaten one (or two) of these while my fries were baking.

No dairy!
No dairy!

I can’t convince myself these are a healthy snack choice but they are tasty and, if I’m indulging myself, why not fully commit? 🙂

Interested in Hilary’s Eat Well brand products? Check them out!
http://www.hilaryseatwell.com/

Leave a Reply

