And To Finish…

It’s the last day of VeganMoFo2014 and the last day of the first Challenge I’ve ever participated in.  I had so much fun deciding which aspects of my McDougall Diet to blog about, successes as well as failures.  I’m going to stay on this diet for a while so please stay tuned for more posts of amazing food!  I’ve also had such fun reading other posts and I look forward to taking more time and checking out bloggers I missed.  To finish out this month of vegan food, I thought I’d end the way meals end: with dessert.

There are so many homemade vegan desserts that are wonderfully rich and flavorful.  It’s easy to make homemade ice cream with coconut milk.  I’ve made ice cream, cakes, cookies, pies, and bars since becoming vegan and I couldn’t choose a favorite if I had to.  One thing I haven’t mastered is the ice cream bar.  I love them which is odd because I never liked them when I ate dairy.  I thought the chocolate shell was nasty and the ice cream under the shell had an off taste.  I’m vegan now and have discovered So Delicious Mocha Almond Fudge Ice Cream Bars.  If you haven’t tried them, find a box. One caveat; you’ve got to like the taste of coffee.

These are fabulous.  The coffee and chocolate are a perfect mix and the chocolate shell melts into a creamy ribbon of chocolate after you bite it.  These bars are incredible rich so it’s a good thing that they’re a mini.  They’re the perfect size to feel like you’re indulging yourself but not so big you feel ill after eating one.  I don’t know if this is a recipe I’ll ever attempt or perfect, but that’s okay because I can sometimes find a box of these on sale.  Try them.  I can’t recommend them enough.

Let me reiterate how much fun I’ve had over the last month: I can’t wait until veganmofo2015.  Until then!

Best Ice Cream Bar Ever!  Or, so far.
Best Ice Cream Bar Ever! Or, so far.
Leave a Reply

