Breakfast? For Dinner?

Absolutely.  Especially when it’s National Pancake Day.  To celebrate, I talked my family into Banana Buckwheat Pancakes and sausage for dinner: Field Roast Apple and Maple sausage for me.  Of course, I didn’t have all the ingredients the recipe in Susan O’Brien’s Gluten-Free Vegan Comfort Food cookbook called for but dinner was rescued from the shoals of disaster and the result was, well, awesome.  Since there was enough substitutions, I’ll share my recipe with you.  I didn’t have gluten free flour so this recipe is vegan, extremely tasty, but not gluten-free.

3 tsp Ener-G egg replacer mixed with 4 TBSP warm water

1 1/2 cups non-dairy milk

2 TBSP agave nectar

1/2 cup applesauce

1/2 cup Kasha

1/2 cup Kamut flakes

1 cup whole wheat pastry flour + 2 – 3 TBSP if batter is too runny

1 tsp cinnamon

1 banana, mashed

1/2 cup chopped pecans

Mix the Ener-G and water and set aside.  Mix all wet ingredients and add the kasha and kamut so they soften a little.  Mix the dry ingredients in a small bowl.  Add the egg replacer to the wet ingredients and mix well.  Add dry ingredients to wet and mix, adding a bit more flour if necessary.

I heated my cast iron griddle and oiled it with a touch of cooking spray.  I then used a 3/4 cup scoop to pour the batter on the griddle but didn’t fill the whole thing so a smaller one would work as well.  I wouldn’t recommend going larger or the pancakes will be mushy on the inside.  I watched the pancakes until they looked ready to flip: I didn’t time it.  It’s that look when the tops aren’t bubbling and the edges are starting to brown…you can also check the pancake and, if it sticks to the griddle, it isn’t ready to flip.  Then, when ready, flip the pancakes and cook on the other side.

I served this with sliced peaches and organic maple syrup.  They are amazing.  They’re hearty and filling with a nutty, rich taste.  Not a fluffy pancake but I didn’t mind that at all.  I’m noting my substitutions in the cookbook for future reference.   This recipe made 10 pancakes, enough for dinner and leftovers for breakfast tomorrow.  Tomorrow morning, I’m going to pop them in the toaster and then spread them with almond butter and fig jam.  I can hardly wait.

These McDougall Diet friendly pancakes don’t taste like health food but they are: no oil in the batter and they’re cooked on a hot, well-seasoned griddle with a light spray of cooking oil.  I love it when healthy tastes naughty.

Happy National Pancake Day!

Breakfast for Dinner!
Breakfast for Dinner!

 

 

One thought on “Breakfast? For Dinner?

  1. Hey very nice web site!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Wonderful ..
    I will bookmark your website and take the feeds additionally?

    I am happy to find a lot of helpful info here within the submit, we’d like develop
    more strategies in this regard, thank you for
    sharing. . . . . .

    Like

Leave a Reply

