It’s Saturday Night Raw!

I dabble in the raw vegan diet.  I own a dehydrator, mostly because the sulphured dried fruit gives me upper respiratory problems and I want to be able to dry my own.  I do own a raw vegan cookbook and understand the dehydrator is capable of so much more but the raw vegan diet isn’t something I’ve fully embraced.  What I have fully embraced are raw vegan desserts.  They’re amazing.  My first raw vegan dessert was a raw chocolate mousse cake I found on Cara Reed’s Fork and Beans website.  Never have I had something so wonderfully chocolate.  I plan to make it again soon with a raspberry reduction: it will be amazing.  When I don’t have time to make my own dessert, I’ll splurge on a store-bought raw dessert or snack.  Whole Foods is the best place to find raw snacks but they can’t be a little pricey so they aren’t something I purchase often.

Except when I find a sale.  I had to run out and get a haircut Thursday night-I had a coupon that was expiring-and needed to drop by the grocery store on my way home.  The Safeway close to my home has what I call “The Vegan Section” although it isn’t strictly vegan.  It’s more of a health/organic/non-dairy/we’re seeing how this stuff sells section.  The goods must not fly off the shelves because I can usually find an excellent deal on Two Moms in the Raw nut and seed bars or raw vegan snacks.  Safeway had Wonderfully Raw Coco-Roons on sale in Vanilla Maple, Chocolate Brownie, and Lemon Pie flavors and Go Raw 100% Chocolate Super Cookies heavily discounted so I took the Chocolate Super Cookies and Lemon Pie Coco-Roons home with me.

Both are excellent but I find I prefer the Go Raw Chocolate Super Cookies.  They conform 100% to the McDougall diet as their only ingredients are Coconut (unsulphured which made me cheer inside), Sprouted Sesame Seeds, Dates, and Cacao.  Not an oil to be seen.  I like the taste of sesame seeds and these little cookies are crunchy, chewy, and sweet without being too sweet.  A serving size is 18 pieces which makes me feel virtuous as I can’t eat that many.  Five or six and I’m done.  The Lemon Pie Coco-Roons, on the other hand, aren’t quite as conformable to the McDougall diet as they contain cold pressed coconut oil.  Still, 1 roon has 6.3 grams of fat so it isn’t the worst thing I could be eating and it’s difficult to eat more than one: they’re extremely rich.  Since the human body has to consume some fat in order for the brain to function, and coconut oil is one of the MUFAs, I think a Lemon Pie Coco-Roon is okay as an occasional snack. (Am I rationalizing?  It sounds like I’m rationalizing.)  The bag is printed with a suggestion to keep them in the fridge, which I like as it means no preservatives and I’m not pressed to eat 8 Coco-Roons before they go bad.  I can spread them out a little.  A sale, good snacks, and 99.9% guilt free.  Who could ask for anything more?

Any favorite raw snacks I should consider?  Any suggestions for the dehydrator?  Let me know!

An Idea For My Next Tea
An Idea For My Next Tea

 

Want the raw chocolate mousse cake recipe?  Click below:

http://www.forkandbeans.com/2013/01/17/raw-chocolate-mousse-cake/

2 thoughts on “It’s Saturday Night Raw!

  1. One of my favourite raw books is Eat Raw Eat Well by Douglas McNish. There a recipe in there for ‘cauliflower popcorn’, which is raw cauli in florets tossed with a little salt, olive oil and nooch. Then dehydrated for however long it takes to go amazingly awesome 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

