Got ‘Shrooms?

I do.  Or did.  I made Mushroom Stroganoff for dinner.  I read through the recipe in my McDougall Quick and Easy Cookbook and thought it sounded worth trying: creamy mushroom stroganoff would hit the spot.  1 pound of mushrooms later, the kitchen is a disaster and I’m eating a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.  I’m well aware that not every recipe is going to generate gasps of wonder.  Some are, frankly, a bust.  That’s the risk taken when trying new things but it’s still disappointing.  Tonight definitely falls under the ‘bust’ category.  Why?  Two reasons.

1.  I tried a new pasta: fettuccine made from mung beans.  The taste is hard to describe.  Earthy?  That’s a nice way of saying the noodles tasted a little (or a lot) like dirt.  At least I know not to buy them again and no situation that offers a learning opportunity can be deemed a waste, right?

2.  An entire pound of mushrooms is way, way too much.  Again, dinner had an earthy taste and no amount of naturally occurring B12 could reconcile me to eating that many mushrooms.

I don’t have any photos either.  It was dark out so no natural light and the yellow kitchen light made the meal look depressing.  Which it was.  The noodles were green.  I thought that would make dinner fun but…well…sigh…The only redeeming feature the meal possessed was the sauce.  I was skeptical about a tofu based cream sauce but it was wonderful.  I was concerned the simple ingredients would result in something bland an uninteresting but, no.  Tofu, white wine, soy sauce, Worcestershire sauce (vegan, of course), and lemon juice might sound weird and a little boring, but it makes an amazing sauce.

So, there is a silver lining to every cloud.  I’ll make the sauce again but this time saute some onion, broccoli, carrots, and peas to use in place of 75% of the mushrooms.  I bet it will be amazing served over quinoa or whole wheat pasta with a slice of crusty bread.  Next time, I’ll turn stroganoff into primavera  and, maybe, I’ll end up with a hit.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

